Poem- Same Same

The air here smells different.
It feels different.

My hair blows with a different scent and
my sweat takes a different trail as it
snakes down my calves.

My eyes are clearer and
my skin is sticky with the juice of mango, coconut, inspiration.

I can feel more of the things that matter to
the One who everything matters to

I take more

Time

I give more

Time

I have more

Time

To rest and be

In
This
Place

In
This
Space

In
This
Breath

Of a moment that is all too fleeting and which moves like the canal before the rain.

Steady as she flows.

The air here smells different.

The warmth here is of a different sun and yet
the rays which tattoo my skin with indelible ink are the same which

pierce through the fog on a
different mountain top with
a different mud to that which bathed my legs today.

a different mountain with different sounds
which I miss in a numb throb which awakens only
while waiting for clothes to wash or shoes to dry.

The air here smells different;
Intermingling of gas and spice.

It sounds different here
Confident inflections which do more than
reveal the self doubt I’m leaving behind
pepper the atmosphere with a sense
of
Something I Can’t Control.

The air here smells different.
It feels different.
Or maybe it’s just
me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

