Make It Monday- Birthday Cake!!

 

cake.jpg

I love birthdays. I love celebrating the coming of a new age and all that brings.

I love the excuse to catch up with old and dear friends, eat yummy food and laugh a lot.

I enjoy reminiscing about past parties, looking back over old photos from birthdays long gone, telling the stories we always tell and adding new ones to the repertoire.

And of course, there’s the cake.

I love trying out new kinds of cakes; interesting flavours, new techniques, creative combinations… healthy at times, decadent at others, delicious- always.

For my birthday this year I slightly adapted a recipe from Eleanor Ozich’s book My Petite Kitchen- one of my absolute favourites.

I used her beautiful Tea Infused Raisin and Hazelnut Cake as a base and only changed a few components to make it entirely sweetened by fruit- no honey or other natural sweeteners added. I also added a light yoghurt glaze which just topped it off perfectly. You can use whatever tea you choose!

Give it a try and let me know what you like!

Tea Infused Fruit and Hazelnut Cake

1 cup mixed dried fruit (I used dates, figs, raisins and apricots)
2-4 tsp of rose tea (use tea of choice- I’ve also used chai and it was equally delicious!)
1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
1/3 cup EVOO
1 cup hazelnut meal
3 eggs, whisked lightly
½ tsp each of ground nutmeg, ginger and cinnamon
1 tsp bicarb soda
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 cup rice flour

Place the fruit and tea into a small saucepan, cover with water and bring to a gentle boil. Reduce the heat to a low simmer until most of the water has evaporated. Leave to cool. (If you would like, you can also add honey here, but I think it’s sweet enough)

Preheat the oven to 160C and spray a cake mould with EVOO.

Combine the hazelnut meal, eggs, spices, bicarb soda and vinegar in a large bowl and sift the flour over. Add the cooled fruit and tea mixture, along with the milk and oil. Mix until well combined.

Pour the batter into the cake could and bake for 40-50 minutes. Leave to cool completely before turning out onto a plate. Top with yoghurt drizzle and fresh figs- if desired.

 Yoghurt Drizzle
½ cup of natural yoghurt
1 tsp of honey (or to taste)
1 tsp of rosewater
sprinkle of cinnamon
Mix together until combined… leave in fridge. Hardest recipe ever.

Leave a Reply

