Make it Monday- Two timing, time saving

Every Tuesday night I go to my Missional Community Group where we study the Bible and discuss last Sunday’s sermon. We also share dinner together, potluck style and talk about our lives and what happened on last weeks episode of Survivor. I love cooking for my group. I’m known as the salad girl and I try to make something vegetarian as there are a few vegos in our group and I know I would want as many options as possible to choose from if I was a vegetarian. I also love playing with vegetables and introducing my friends to vegetables they’ve never even heard of before, let alone tried! So, normally every Monday night after gym, I put together a dish to nourish and feed my friends.

I also love making my own granola and I had some left over aquafaba (the juice from the chickpea can) which was getting close to needing to be used YESTERDAY. But when would I find the time to use it?

Ah. Time to double time it.

I prepped the salad first, popped the vegetables into roast and while that was happening, mixed together my granola. Then, at the end of the veg roasting, I added the rye bread (as I was making a panzanella) and also slid my granola into the hot oven.

While the veg and bread finished off, my granola got nice and toasty and clumpy. When I removed the veg, I turned off the oven and left the granola in there to finish off.

Easy done!

Cooking is all about using your time economically. This also saved on power- instead of turning the oven on twice- it was just used once. Woo!

These recipes are both super yummy and super healthy so give them a go!

Fennel and Beetroot Panzanella16388247_10154611670798101_952221201630006392_n

2 beetroots, chopped roughly
2 fennel bulbs, chopped roughly, fronds reserved
TBSP of Italian Herb mix (I buy mine from Oasis Bakery)
Spray EVOO
Splash of lemon juice
1 apple
1/2 a bunch of parsley
Salt and pepper
Stale rye sourdough
Herb infused Apple Cider Vinegar
Mixed leaves

Place the beetroot and fennel on a baking paper lined tray, spray with EVOO and sprinkle on the herbs and lemon juice. Season.

Roast for 30mins at 200C

While this is happening, chop/tear your bread into bite sized pieces and sprinkle the ACV over it. Once the 30 is up, add your bread to the baking tray and cook for another 10 minutes until the bread is nice and toasty. Remove from the oven, add the apple (you can roast the apple too if you want, but I like the contrast of textures and the apples I have at the mo are super yum) and parsley. Once the veg cools, mix through the mixed leaves.

You could also add some ricotta or feta, olives, sundried tomatoes, toasted sunflower seeds, etc. Be creative and taste as you go!

Apricot and Cardamom Granola 

16386942_10154611670868101_3310728964439771446_n

Handful each of:
Oats (x2)
Buckwheat groats
Steel cut oats
Pecans
Almonds
Dried Apricots soaked in a tea of your choice (I used T2 2 Stones Apricot and Plum Tea)
Puffed rice

TBSP of mixed spice
A few TSP of pure vanilla extract
A few TSP of ground cardamom
A few TSP of turmeric
Aquafaba as needed

Mix all ingredients in a bowl, adding the aquafaba as needed to moisten all ingredients and get it nice and clumpy.

Spread granola over a sprayed baking tray and cook for about 15mins in a 200C oven. I often turn the oven off and leave the granola in there to cool and crisp up completely. Add puffed rice and store in an air tight jar.

Granola is so versatile, add whatever flavourings and spices you want. Use whatever base you want, nuts, oats, other grains… Add dried fruits or not… Add sweeteners and oils if you want. I like mine pretty lean so I try not to use any sweetener apart from the fruit and spices. Aquafaba acts in place of oil to make it nice and clumpy but it’s not always crispy like an oil based covering. Do whatever you feel is best. 

I hope you can find your flow in the kitchen and that cooking becomes as much a joy for you as it is for those who you cook for.

Leave a Reply

